June 24, 2024

Get Auto Tips

For Glorious Car

AUTO RACING: NASCAR begins 75th year with 65th Daytona 500

AUTO RACING: NASCAR begins 75th year with 65th Daytona 500

All Situations Jap

NASCAR CUP Collection

Daytona 500

Web-site: Daytona Seaside, Florida.

Agenda: Thursday, Duel 1, 7 p.m., and Duel 2, 8:45 p.m. Friday, follow, 5:30 p.m. Saturday, observe, 10:30 a.m. Sunday, race, 2:30 p.m. (Fox)

Monitor: Daytona International Speedway

Race distance: 200 laps, 500 miles

Past calendar year: Cup Collection rookie Austin Cindric received after commencing fifth.

Previous race: Joey Logano received at Phoenix in the period finale to claim his 2nd NASCAR Cup Sequence championship for Roger Penske.

Rapidly information: With Will Energy professing the IndyCar tile, Staff Penske gained two major automobile racing titles in the United States previous 12 months. … Logano (2018) and Kyle Busch (2015, 2019) are the ony active motorists with extra than a person NASCAR Cup Collection title. … Busch now races for Richard Childress just after his prolonged operate with Joe Gibbs Racing came to an conclusion. … Ty Gibbs changed Busch in the JGR trip. … Seven-time champion Jimmie Johnson will make his return to NASCAR as a part-time driver (5 races) and owner of the Legacy Motor Club, previously Petty GMS. … 2014 champion Kevin Harvick is beginning his final year as a driver right before moving into the broadcast booth. … Martin Truex Jr., winless previous calendar year, opened this time with a victory in the exhibition race at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. … IndyCar driver Conor Daly will endeavor to qualify for the Daytona 500 with the NASCAR staff owned by Floyd Mayweather. … Chevrolet drivers have received the last 10 pole positions.

Following race: Feb. 26 at Fontana, California.

On the web: http://www.nascar.com


Beef It is What’s For Dinner 300

Internet site: Daytona Beach, Florida.

Agenda: Friday, practice, 4:30 p.m. Saturday, qualifying, 11:30 a.m., and race, 5 p.m. (FS1).

Monitor: Daytona Worldwide Speedway

Race distance: 120 laps, 300 miles.

Past calendar year: Austin Hill received just after commencing second.

Past race: Ty Gibbs, the only non JR Motorsports driver in the 4-driver finale, held off Noah Gragson for his 1st NASCAR Xfinity Collection championship at Phoenix.

Fast information: Gibbs and Gragson (Petty GMS) are amid the drivers who have moved up to the Cup Series. They mixed (Gibbs 7, Gragson 8) to win 15 of the 33 sequence races final season. … Kyle Busch, the profession leader with 102 victories in the series, will push five races for Kaulig Racing, sharing the No. 10 vehicle with AJ Allmendinger, Austin Dillon and Justin Haley. Busch will race at Las Vegas, Phoenix, Charlotte, Watkins Glen Worldwide and Darlington.

Upcoming race: Feb. 25, Fontana, California.

On the internet: http://www.nascar.com


NextEra Electricity 250

Internet site: Daytona Seaside, Florida.

Schedule: Thursday, apply, 5:05 p.m. Friday, qualifying, 3 p.m., and race, 7:30 p.m. (FS1)

Keep track of: Daytona Worldwide Speedway

Race length: 100 laps, 250 miles.

Very last yr: Eventual series winner Zane Smith won after starting second.

Past race: Smith held off Ben Rhodes and Chandler Smith in a two-lap extra time sprint to get his 1st championship at Phoenix.

Quickly information: Zane Smith also won the to start with two phases in the championship race, but fell back just after a slow pit halt. … Smith led the sequence with 4 victories in 23 races final yr. … Smith will also race in seven Cup Collection races this calendar year. … Kyle Busch will also race five races in the series this yr for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

Upcoming race: March 3, Las Vegas.

On the web: http://www.nascar.com

System One

Final race: Max Verstappen, who had presently clinched his 2nd straight series championship, received for the 15th time of the year at Abu Dhabi to finish one particular of the most dominant seasons in collection historical past.

Following race: March 5, Abu Dhabi, Bahrain.

On-line: http://www.formulation1.com


Final race: Alex Palou gained at Laguna Seca and Will Electric power concluded 3rd in the period finale to defeat Crew Penske teammate Josef Newgarden for the season championship by 16 factors. It was the 2nd title for Energy, who also gained in 2014, and the 17th for the Penske business.

Following race: March 5, St. Petersburg, Florida.

On line: http://www.indycar.com


Up coming party: March 9-12, Gainesville, Florida.

On-line: http://www.nhra.com


Upcoming occasions: March 5-6, Barberville, Florida.

On the net: http://worldofoutlaws.com/sprintcars


AP automobile racing: https://apnews.com/hub/car-racing and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports activities